Club News
Sandy Springs Honors First Responders

In October, the Rotary Club of Sandy Springs hosted the 2017 Public Safety Awards during an annual luncheon. The annual event recognizes City of Sandy Springs first responders who have shown exemplary professional accomplishments in the city’s Fire/EMS and Police Departments. Sandy Springs Police Captain Mike Lindstrom (a Sandy Springs Rotarian) officiated the program, and Police Chief Ken DeSimone and Fire Chief Keith Sanders (also a Sandy Springs Rotarian) presented their respective department winners. Also speaking during the event was Sandy Springs Mayor Rusty Paul, an honorary member of the Rotary Club of Sandy Springs.

Of special significance was the posthumous acceptance of the Firefighter of the Year Award for Jacob Hammond by his mother, Lynn Hammond, who commended both the Sandy Springs Fire Department for welcoming her son into the profession of firefighting and the Sandy Springs Police Department, which showed enormous compassion and sympathy to her when she was informed that her son was recently killed on September 21, 2017 in an off-duty, motorcycle accident. Jacob was only 21 years old at his death and had joined the Sandy Springs Fire Department in March of 2015.

Other winners of the 2017 Sandy Springs Public Service Awards included:

  • Police Department Civilian of the Year: Jannah Bryant
  • Police Officer of the Year: Officer Craig Manne
  • Police Officer Supervisor of the Year: Sergeant Anthony Misuraca
  • Paramedic of the Year: Paramedic Derek Uburti
Posted by Sally Wyeth Mclaughlin
November 5, 2017


This Year’s Posts